Tried&Tested: Haus of Gloi pumpkin butters review

September 12, 2012 § Leave a comment

I’m pretty sure I first heard of Haus of Gloi over at Claire’s Beauty–specifically, this Indie Interview post with Evonne of Darling Clandestine, who mentions that she uses her own scent concoction mixed into Aether Pumpkin Butter. Aether. Pumpkin Butter.

Aether pumpkin butter: it sounds pretty, appetizing, and luxurious all at the same time!  Ok, there you go, curiosity piqued: I visited Haus of Gloi.

The Haus is an indie, vegan bath, body, and fragrance line based in Oregon. It’s run by Matt and Britton — all the scents are crafted and blended by hand, so you’re pretty much assured of getting interesting and unique products, whether they’re pumpkin butters, body emulsions, soaps, emulsifying scrubs, bubbling scrubs, and perfume oils.

I like that they put a lot of thought into their “branding.” For example, the website’s overall theme changes with the seasons – right now, it’s autumn, as you can see from the screenshot.  Whether it’s spring or autumn, the site reflects their aesthetic (a mix of quirky and arcane come to mind), is really easy to navigate, and only has the essentials.

BUT browsing the catalog is difficult, because everything sounds so appealing! Check out the pumpkin butters here and be tempted.

Since this was my first order, I decided to order pumpkin butters in the sample sizes (2oz) so I could get a variety of scents: Elevenses, Troika, and Twice is Nice. I also ordered a perfume oil sample in Honeysuckle Lemon Curd (which I’ll review in another post). I received my little haul – with a free sample of Picaroon – thanks to my aunt’s obliging friend (who allowed me to ship this to her) and to my aunt (who brought them home from her business trip).

Here they are, a little worse for the wear, after I’ve used them a few times.

The pumpkin butters come in little plastic jars with screw-on lids — and as a bonus, they’re sealed, which I didn’t expect from an independent business. Once you open them, they look like whipped butter, close to the pictures in the catalog.

I scooped a small amount on the back of my hand to show you the texture – doesn’t it look thick and luxurious? Be warned: a little of this product goes a long way; it was enough to cover my entire forearm. I’ve used them each a number of times for my whole body (usually after I shower to lock the moisture in), and I can tell you that these pumpkin butters also go on smoothly and sink well into the skin. If you use a little too much, you might feel a bit more stickiness on your skin, but that’s not really a bad thing for me, as these are all so moisturizing.

On to the scents (official description in italics, my impressions below):

Twice is Nice: Sweetest offerings of opulence! Buttery sugar cookie, with shavings of creamy coconut and topped with toasted almond slivers!

– I’ve found that with the Haus, scent descriptions are generally spot on: this smelled to me like a freshly-baked, buttery coconut macaroon. The almond’s also there upon initial application, but fades away behind the buttery, coconut smell. I thought I smelled delicious, honestly – but my younger sister also said I smelled like virgin coconut oil. She got the scent right, but not in the way I would’ve liked!

Troika: A trinity of soft milks, almond, oat and coconut, lashed with sweet agave nectar and the ethereal scent of clean white.

– This is the most subtle of the scents I chose – it smells clean and soft, not too overwhelming at all. The prominent notes are really the milk and almond, with a hint of the coconut. I can’t really distinguish the other scents, but they’re there to keep the fragrance from being TOO simple and boring. At first, I thought this was exactly similar to Vanilla & Co’s Milky Almond buttercream, and then I compared the two – yep, Milky Almond is Troika’s more boring sister.

Elevenses: Not quite breakfast and not quite lunch, its the little snack in between. Bring out the old cracked china! Tiny, little, fluffy orange cakes, sugar coated toasty almonds and a wee steaming cup of black tea!

– This was my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE of all three scents. It makes me feel like I’m in Hobbiton, having second breakfast in Bag End – astringent black tea, orange cakes flecked with spices, and something creamy tying it all together (must be the almond). I love this so much I’ve only used it twice – on days that I need a pick-me-up.

The packaging’s pretty nice as well – it reflects the site’s quirky-arcane aesthetic. Labels are also printed with a complete list of (vegan) ingredients and the descriptions of the scents. I like these so much that when I’ve used all of these up, I don’t think I’m going to throw these jars away!

I thought that these were such tiny, tiny jars, but you get a surprising amount of use with these products – I’ve used Troika five times, and there’s still a little over half the jar left.

See – there’s still a lot of product left

I did a little sleuthing around Google before I ordered these, and I found out that Julia of Bless My Bag has also ordered from the Haus. You can read her post about them here, especially if you’re wondering about shipping to Manila.

I should add that Matt and Britton have great customer service as well – when I sent them an email to correct my shipping address, they responded promptly.

As a bonus, they include a free sample of perfume oil with every order. Turnaround time (the time in between placing your order and them shipping it out) is also very fast – it took 2 days for them to ship out this order.

PROS: packaging, generous sample sizes, very moisturizing, spreads and sinks into skin well, amazing scents, scents linger for 3-4 hours, affordable prices, fast turnaround time, great customer service, they ship worldwide, and all products are vegan-friendly

CONS: none that I can think of!

Try? I would recommend these products to everyone, whether they’re from the general collection (as all 3 of mine were), or they’re from the themed seasonal collections (Autumn is up right now). Right now, Elevenses is the only one I would repurchase in the full size – not because I didn’t like the other products, but because I want to try everything else. Yes, everything.

(and in fact, the entire Autumn line of pumpkin butters is on their way to me!)

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tried&Tested: Haus of Gloi pumpkin butters review at Prettifying, Pretty trying.

meta

